RSS

I’m inspired by: Trust in Learning, 2011

19 Jan

Though I haven’t done a blog post about it, we spent a month around the winter holidays in Austin, Texas. There is so much to tell that I am still pondering how to be succinct in professing my love for Austin and all that we experienced there. I guess I just did it a lil’ bit… but rest assured, there’ll be more.

There is one thing that I must tell y’all about NOW, though, because it’s happening soon!

trust in learning

Trust in Learning 2011 Conference- Austin, TX

I met so many wonderful new friends in Austin and it’s always the people on our travels that inspire us more than any historical landmark. One afternoon at an unschoolers’ park day, I met Karen Walker – a former teacher turned homeschooling mom of 2 and founder/moderator of the North Austin Learning Adventure Homeschool Group. Karen and I chatted and I was struck by her combination of passion and humility as she told me about something so big, so exciting that I really was disappointed that we won’t be in the area to enjoy and participate due to our travel plans.

So I’m telling you here- Austin is a most amazing place in so many ways and on February 11th-12th, 2011 you can attend the first annual Trust in Learning Conference. There are many conferences out there so why am I inspired? Karen’s statement: “I’m just a mom who was talking with another mom at a park day one day. We thought, wouldn’t it be great if Austin had a conference for relaxed homeschoolers and unschoolers? So we planned one!” Now there’s drive and commitment you don’t see everyday.  Also, there are many conferences geared for unschoolers but what Karen and her friend/co-organizer April Aguren have strived to provide is an informative two-day workshop for people who are homeschooling or interested in homeschooling but looking for a more relaxed approach that honors their children and gives awareness of how learning happens – all the time.  If this is you or someone you know, check out their website and Facebook page and share away!
Another kicker? Peter Gray will be speaking! If you’ve checked out the links (they are many and awesome) on my Humans Being site, you know that I love so much of what Peter Gray has written as do so many of the enlightened folks in my networks. 

Thank you, Karen and April, for inspiring us all to follow our passions and to dream big.  Best wishes on a successful conference!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 19, 2011 in Conference

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “I’m inspired by: Trust in Learning, 2011

  1. Karen

    January 19, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    Thanks, Sarah! It was great to meet you too! Best wishes on your travels! Maybe we can do another one that you’ll can be in town for?

     

Leave a Reply

 
