RSS

Hoop Mama

27 May

A couple of weeks ago (I’m catching up post our trip to New Hampshire), we got together with the Wagner and Janssen families for some potluck, conversation, and… hooping!  I was re-introduced to the hoop after what may have amounted to a 25 year hiatus.  We definitely didn’t pick up where we left off.  The first night was spent becoming re-acquainted- some straight up, old school waist hooping and a little bit of the booty bump.  Having done a trick and feeling really smooth with the hoop, I was hooked.  We were a group to behold- several women, one man (who rocked the hoop), and a handful of children all hooping in the twilight.  Those of us without, wanted hoops of our own.  We made a plan to get together again the next night for hoop making and more spinning. 

These are not your ordinary, plastic toy aisle hoops.  They are made of irrigation tubing making them heavier, more comfortable, easier to spin, and tougher to kink/break.  They’re also gorgeous and personal!  I feel very bonded to my hoop after spending the time making it.

Rather than re-creating the hoop- er…wheel, here are instructions for making your own hoop a la Sara Janssen.  I warn you- it’s addictive. 

Here are the hoops that Sadie (blue on blue), Elijah (blue and purple on pink), and I (alternating red/yellow & purple/blue) made.  They are all different sizes according to what felt good when we were hooping with others’ and that’s great because different sized hoops work for different tricks so I can switch it up if the kids aren’t looking. 🙂

Learning recently that I can collapse my hoop for easier travel, I am thrilled that we won’t have to be separated.  With our recent vacation, I was itching to get back in the spin.  I’ve been working on the lift and am now ready to move on.  My plan is to start watching more videos and trying out new tricks.  My hoop needs a little more weight so I’ll be adding more gaffers tape and possibly making one slightly smaller as Elijah is not always willing to share. 🙂  Many have asked about making their own hoops so I’ll be purchasing materials and having a hoop making party soon!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 27, 2010 in Parks, Playdate, RV, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Hoop Mama

  1. Zacropia

    May 27, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Hoop Hoop Hooray!!!!

     
  2. Kristin

    May 28, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    I’ll admit that I had no idea what “hooping” was! I thought it was some kind of fancy, old-fashioned needle-point craft! I felt so out of the loop (hoop?). But this I can do! 🙂

     
    • Sarah

      May 29, 2010 at 7:17 am

      LOL, Kristin! No needlepoint for me. Go soup up a hoop! I think the kids and I will go out this morning and spin before it gets too hot. FYI- the bigger the hoop, the easier to spin as a beginner (spins slower). An unwieldy-feeling hoop may need more gaffers tape to give it a little more weight. Usually start with a hoop that hits you between belly button and nipple when sitting on the ground.

       

Leave a Reply

 
