RSS

Going Up?

09 May

I must apologize for my camera which seems to not be responding to the flash. I took this picture about five times and they all came out dark.

Honey? I need a new camera.

Sadie has become quite the climber lately.  She goes all the way across on the monkey bars, climbs on top of tube slides, the kitchen counters, trees…. really anything that will get her off the ground.  She doesn’t always feel comfortable getting herself down but she does love going up!

She showed us this new skill this morning.  Of course, the most impressive climbs (her head was touching the arch) were not caught on camera but this was really wild to watch.  If I’m stuck on a deserted island, I want it to be with Sadie so I can have fresh coconut milk as desired.

Have I thought about telling her to ‘get down’?  I’m about to write a post about suppressing, redirecting, and negating our children’s desires over at Humans Being.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

6 responses to “Going Up?

  1. Mary Bright

    May 10, 2010 at 8:38 am

    Very cool, Sadie. I used to do that when I was little too. It kinda annoyed my mom, though.

     
  2. Ronet

    May 10, 2010 at 11:54 am

    You rock, Sadie!!! I’m definitely picking you as my travel buddy next time I’m heading toward any deserted islands!! Love you, little monkey!!

    Ah, yes, Sarah — those “dreaded possibilities” . . . nasty buggers always try to get in the way of the fun. 🙂

     
  3. Open Source Learning

    May 11, 2010 at 7:08 am

    Go Sadie! Go Sadie! Go Sadie! See you soon!
    LOVE!
    Susan

     
  4. Dina

    May 12, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    man did that make me smile. go sadie!

     
  5. Mike

    May 12, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    Wow! I’m impressed. Great climbing skills!

    Sarah, you’ve got me thinking on that “no” word–definitely oppressive. My wife and I are working on saying it less and less to our son Aidan (6). It’s a tough one to let go of, but we’re trying. It feels better to say, yes. Thanks for sharing…

     
  6. denise

    May 13, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Fun! That is EXACTLY how my oldest climbs the counter/fridge to get to stuff on top (we don’t put things up there to keep them away from anyone, but only so much counterspace and so stuff is up there out of the way). He then straddles in almost splits with foot on counter and foot on fridge. He can get really high! 🙂

    Love the video.

     

Leave a Reply

 
