RSS

Spring is upon us!

30 Apr

Yes, it’s spring.  The weather is absolutely gorgeous.  We’ve been spending tremendous amounts of time outside doing all sorts of exciting things with all sorts of wonderful people.  Here’s a catch-up:

Rollerskating around the neighborhood- our wheels were not acceptable for the local indoor rink so we are just as happy to enjoy the weather and play together outside at home.

We’re making the rounds of the playgrounds on foot, bike, rollerskates, and wiggle cars.  This run-down jungle gym was an unexpected find on a bike ride one afternoon.  The kids thought it was pretty funny to climb on the window of the school bus.

Several people have asked me, when discussing unschooling, how my kids get PE (aka- gym).  I have to laugh because we’re always on the move! 

FINALLY- winter chill and wetness are gone and we’re getting together every two weeks for our DFW Whole-Life Unschooling Meet-Ups!  Discussions so far this spring have ranged from supporting health and wellness by listening to our children listening to their own bodies to talking to people about unschooling.  These are long days full of thoughtful, supportive, open-minded discussion and children frolicking happily on the playground, in the wooded areas, and in the creek!

We’ve hung out with old friends (Sadie and Rachel eat lunch together at the park).

And new friends!  The kids (after another fabulous children’s theatre production at Casa Manana) explore a 200 year-old pecan tree at the Ft. Worth Botanic Gardens with Milford and Crewe (of New Zealand). 

Creeks are a big fascination this spring.  We’ve spent a LOT of time exploring water!

We’ve got Miss Skooter with us almost everywhere we go.  She’s the kids’ baby and best friend.  She’s gotten quite big (for a small dog, mind you) but is dwarfed by Lulu.  We’ve found some great wild areas to explore near the house and are learning all the time about and because of our sweet pups.  Here Lulu looks longingly at what we presume to be an animal den.  It’s cleverly protected by cacti which keeps her at bay.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Spring is upon us!

  1. Natalie

    May 2, 2010 at 6:01 am

    I loved catching up with your Spring activities and the bit about PE made me laugh. I have to wonder if the people who ask you actually know children. Kids play. I love watching them always on the go in one way or another.

    I guess it’s like anything, if you want your children to be a certain way or try certain things, it’s more likely (though not a given) that it’ll happen if it’s something you do. Kids emulate.

    I remember as a kid my dad spending a lot of time on the sofa, berating me for not getting exercise and then making me do “exercise” or sports that I hated because they were “good for me” and just weren’t suitable for me (not to mention the humiliating forced school PE experiences).

    It took me until the end of my 30s to find physical activity I like doing and being pretty fit and healthy because it feels good and not because I should (and so resist it).

    Phew … it feels so much better to be free and empowered to be me and to know my children won’t even know what it’s like not to be for the most part.

     
  2. v

    July 8, 2010 at 1:26 am

    The PE question makes me laugh, too, especially as it seems schools are cutting more and more physical activity from the school day.

    When we’re at home, we’re always walking, riding bikes, going to parks, etc. And, my daughter is not a fan of ever sitting still. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
