RSS

Baker Boy

21 Apr

Elijah has a newfound interest in baking- late-night baking.  There’s something about the 9 o’clock hour that makes him want to pull out the measuring cups.  I was resistant at first.  I’m TIRED at 9 o’clock!  However, he is tremendously focused in these later hours.  The house is quiet and there are no other distractions.  Last night we decided to make big, fat chocolate chip cookies.  This is, by far, our favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe – not the least bit healthy, but VERY yummy!

 I got out the computer and the ingredients and he was on his way.  He read the recipe and, as we decided to double the recipe to store some dough, he doubled each of the ingredients and added them as he went.  Some were straightforward- 1/2 tsp doubled = 1 tsp.  When we got to the butter, however, I stood back and waited – ready to get the pen and paper and draw out a quartered pie.  The original recipe calls for 3/4 cup of butter.  He has never done anything actively or with intention with fractions except practically when dividing this or that in half. 

Quickly and simply he said, “Hmm.  3/4 + 3/4 is 6/4.  1 and 2/4 .  1 and 1/2 cups!”

WHAT?  “Can you tell me how you did that?” I asked.  It took me through middle school to be able to work with fractions like that.  And I still didn’t understand the practical application.  It was numbers on a paper.

“Not really,” he replied.

End of story.  He knows what he needs to know and learns skills as they make sense by building on previous knowledge.  This is the basis of learning theory.  It’s awesome and amazing and brilliant.  This is life.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 21, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Baker Boy

  1. Annie

    April 21, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    love it! I was excited to see my 4 year old (FOUR!) figure out adding and subtracting in an attempt to get more cookies from his Daddy, ha ha!

    Kids are so amazing! I had a tough time with fractions and math, even when I could solve the problems I didn’t really get it, you know? I could plug things in and get the right answer, but I didn’t understand WHY it all worked out the way it did.

     
  2. Mary Bright

    April 21, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Wow. Everything has been screaming at me lately that unschooling is what I need to do. It’s starting to sink in. Thanks.

     
  3. Lisa Russell

    May 9, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    My 9 yr old does oral math tricks ALL THE TIME. She’s also figured out how to communicate her calculations with me SLOWLY in a step-by-step way that helps me understand better. It’s amazing, really. Cooking was a big deal for her, too. It still is.

     

Leave a Reply

 
