RSS

Amigu- what?

14 Mar

 

Amigurumi!!!  Look what I made!

Knitting the scarf was boring.  I needed something new to keep my hands busy at park days.  A friend told me about amigurumi- Japanese crocheted stuffed animals.  She showed me an octopus (similar to those above but with round legs- which I actually think look much cuter) and I was inspired.  She was right- it can be very easy and quick. 

The kids absolutely love them.  Elijah has since requested/received a large penguin.  Apparently, though, there are several levels of difficulty for amigurumi.  Sadie requested a deer from a 2nd book from the library and I’ve ripped out all of the stitches three times before realizing that the pattern she chose is labeled ‘advanced.’  Oy.

For us novices, I highly recommend this book (which I got from our local library): Amigurumi- Seriously cute crochet.  I’m off to try to decipher this deer pattern from the other book which- after eliciting more curse words- will soon be returned to the library.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Amigu- what?

  1. Darcel

    March 14, 2010 at 9:32 pm

    Those are really cute! I wish I stuck with learning how to knit. Maybe I’ll pick it up again one day.

     
    • Sarah

      March 15, 2010 at 6:45 am

      I swear to you ladies that these were easy (and so was the penguin- which I have yet to photograph). It’s all single crochet, adding, and dropping. I highly recommend this particular book b/c the patterns are all simple and really cute. Great little projects.

       
  2. kim

    March 15, 2010 at 6:32 am

    Those are super cute! I really should reattempt, for the 40th time, to try and crochet…

     
  3. Cam

    March 17, 2010 at 7:53 pm

    I’ll be going home to see my mom soon, and I’ve asked her to please teach me to crochet. I am so excited to learn! These look like tons of fun to make and have!!

    🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
