RSS

Gift Reflections

26 Feb

In accordance with Elijah’s newfound obsession with Wii Rock Band drumming, Santa brought an actual, noisy drum set for him.  He just knew Santa would bring it- no matter how big or expensive.  His trust is so powerful and definitely something from which I can take a page.  He’s got a consistent beat that he likes to play with a little drum fill at the end.  This ‘noise’ is music to my ears!  Though they differ, it is clear that he has learned considerable rhythm from the Rock Band games.  Especially as he advances his level, an anticipation of the beat is required rather than simply simultaneous matching of colors with hits.  It’s really quite fascinating to watch.  He still prefers to play on the Wii because there is accompaniment and a sense of creating something that sounds good.  Sadie likes to free form it on the regular drums and won’t step foot near them on the Wii.

Several months ago, Sadie stood in the toy aisle at the store with a 3 Musketeers Barbie in her hand, closed her eyes, and vibrated with concentration. When asked what she was doing, she responded, “telling Santa the purple one.”  Apparently we use telepathy to connect with Santa which I think is awesome!  This was a huge step for me.  The only Barbie that she had previous to this was a one-armed salvage from a miscellaneous toy bin at the Rethinking Education Conference two years ago.  My distaste for Barbie has turned to complete appreciation as I have sat and poured over 50 years of Barbie fashions in library books and watched her fascination grow.  This was the first time she had ever asked for a new one of her own.  That lingering feminist, anti-plastic toy Nazi still whispered from the nether regions of my brain but I promptly told it to, ‘shut up.’  Just another situation in which my own brainwashing, self image issues, and societal tags have attempted to impair my ability to recognize the purity of a child’s simple desire.  Tears in my eyes, I had a very proud moment as I paid the $16 for this doll.  Santa brought the purple one (and a horse)!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Gift Reflections

  1. Sara McGrath

    March 2, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    The new Barbie image, as represented in the animated movies is a huge improvement over the party girl of the past. I can’t stand the Bratz dolls, but I keep my mouth shut. My 3 girls love all the Barbie-esque dolls. We recently watched a tour of the Barbie factory, which was pretty interesting.

     

Leave a Reply

 
