RSS

Laundry Quandry

15 Aug

June 20  2009 033

Especially in the summer, dryers are an energy nightmare both for conservation and electric bills. Even an energy saver dryer (like we have) puts off heat which makes the air conditioning have to work even harder. I have been very interested in getting a clothesline. After some research, however, it appeared to be an expensive endeavor and I didn’t want something that would take up space in the yard or be an eyesore when we weren’t using it. Then I had a brainstorm, spent $5 at the dollar store on a clothesline rope and some packages of clothespins and got to work. We hang the rope from fence to fence when we have laundry to hang out and take it down when it’s dry (about 10 minutes in the summer!). I have found hanging laundry to be incredibly meditative and really enjoy it. It also gives our clothes a really fresh, natural scent that can’t be gotten from a bottle without additives that give me a headache and the sun’s rays are anti-bacterial in their own right so it’s healthier for the family! So far, the only thing we don’t dry outside are bath towels and Chris’ gym socks (they get crunchy!).

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Laundry Quandry

  1. kim

    August 15, 2009 at 9:55 am

    Those collapsible clothes racks are great as well, just fold and store when not in use. That said, they won’t beat 5 bucks!

     
  2. Christy

    August 15, 2009 at 11:30 am

    My mom would hang our clothes out when I was a kid. She would put the towels and socks in the dryer for a couple of miutes after taking them from the line to get rid of the “crunchiness”. I hang most of our shirts inside to dry, but haven’t tried a clothes line yet… in this Texas heat not sure if I could handle it:-)

     
  3. Susan

    August 18, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Yeah we have a jahunga collapsable clothes rack, and I do mean Jahunga! My Ex made it for my Mum decades ago, and she lent it to us so I could sun Lochlann’s cloth diapers when she was a baby. We still have it! ( Thanks Mum!!)

    I do like our towels crunchy! They give a nice little after shower exfoliation! LOL

     
  4. Mary q Contrarie

    August 23, 2009 at 7:47 am

    I started out with a clothes line like you did. I found that I wanted to keep air drying in the winter and I couldn’t let myself fall behind on rainy days. So now a have a couple clothes drying racks that I find to be really convienant and the money I am saving in utility bills more than pays for the racks in a very short time.

     

Leave a Reply

 
