RSS

Ever-Presence

18 Apr

I had one of my ever-present days today. They feel great- the ones where my mind follows my heart and all actions follow my guiding principles for life and family. There was a spectacular tea party complete with storytelling. Polly Pockets were dressed to the hilt and drove out of the car dealership in style on dirt bikes and in monster and garbage trucks (it was Sunday in our play so all vehicles were declared FREE). Simply shaped blocks, both large and small, were used to create a mall  and then a playground for tiny pets. Sadie hung a curtain in the hallway and the kids put on several plays in full costume. We made cookies. At some point in the afternoon the kids took off by themselves to play and I managed to vacuum the whole house in one day. It is confirmed to be true that if I follow my heart and their lead, everyone’s needs are met in the span of the day. So involved in participation was I that not many pictures were taken. Later in the afternoon, however, as Sadie played Clifford the Big Red Dog phonics games on the computer, Elijah asked if we could play store. I had no idea how serious he was…april-17-2009-053

Dry-erase boards were used to make ‘Sorry We’re Closed’ and ‘Yes, We’re Open’ signs. Yard sale stickers were used to price each cubby in the bookcase. Elijah filled his change purse with coins and a cash box was made for the store. I was the shop keeper and he, the shopper. Most of the game was the setup portion but he did purchase several items for $1.48 and worked through his change to provide me with exactly the appropriate amount. I had previously been confused as to why he didn’t think I would need a cash drawer…

april-17-2009-058

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Ever-Presence

  1. Jolene

    April 19, 2009 at 4:43 am

    Dear Sarah,
    This is the first time I’ve browsed your blog and I saw so many reflections of my own family, home, lifestyle. Thanks for the connection and inspiration!
    Jolene Dongelmans

     
  2. Christy

    April 22, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Thanks for this post! I needed to hear this today. Follow my heart and their lead and all of our needs will be met. Funny how a five minute break at the computer will lead you just where you need to be… off to play:-)

     

Leave a Reply

 
