RSS

HB #5- Recognize and Reconcile

17 Sep

What you’ll find in this episode:

‘Reconcile’ (v.) – To bring (oneself) to accept

Stages: 1) defensiveness, 2) judgment/self-righteousness, 3) understanding

We ‘know’ we’re right…. so do they! 

Be strong and solid in what your goal is for your family.

Unschooling- not everyone wants to do this! Support educational reform. Vote!

Gentle parenting- set an example. Be true to yourself and model positive parent-child interactions. Everyone is doing the best they know how to do.

Seek support!- Read, attend, form/join a tribe! 

Click here for a direct link to the show.

Are you ready for a complete shift in life philosophy? To respect your children as the people they are rather than concerning yourself with what they will become? Do you mean it when you say that you will be happy as long as your children are happy- no matter what? These only sound cliche if you aren’t able to recognize that children are capable of directing their own lives. As unschoolers and gentle parents we understand and live this. Humans Being will discuss facets of unschooling and gentle parenting as well as how they relate and work in our family and others. We’ll talk about a variety of unschooling philosophies, literature, and media as well as hearing from unschoolers all over the world who will share their experiences.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2008 in Podcast

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “HB #5- Recognize and Reconcile

  1. quinnx5

    September 18, 2008 at 11:38 am

    I finally managed to listen to a whole installment. I only had to pause about 15 times. 🙂 Anyway, I enjoyed it. I’m going to try to go back and listen to the others too.

     
  2. Christy

    September 19, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    I just wanted to tell you thanks for the podcast I really enjoyed it. I saw that you had it up yesterday and couldn’t wait to have a spare minute to listen…it’s now after midnight and I was finally able to.
    I have been thinking a lot lately about judging other parents and I agree with you! Sometimes I will hear the way someone is talking to their child and think how horrible it is, but then I say to myself, “She/He is doing the best that they can with the tools that they have.” It helps me to not judge.
    I find it much harder to “gentle parent” in public. I loved what you said about the woman staying home when she knew it was going to be hard for her. This is such hard work, but so worth it!
    Thanks again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
