RSS

When I Bite into a York Peppermint Patty…

10 Aug

A few days ago (as seen on blog :)), we went to the Dallas Museum of Art. On the way we picked up some peppermint patties (a family vice) at the gas station.

Elijah: “Hey Mama- we should make a batch of these at home!”

Mama: (my gut reaction comes out…) “You can’t just make these, Lijey. These are some sort of laboratory concoction.” After further thought…. “You know what? Let’s Google it when we get home. I bet there’s a recipe out there.”

Elijah: “Yay! Can we make them today?”

Well, it took a few days but we made them. And, as it turns out, they’re easy to make and…awesome (uh oh)!

INGREDIENTS (Nutrition)

  • 3/4 cup sweetened condensed milk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons peppermint extract
  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 3 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 2 teaspoons shortening

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine condensed milk and peppermint extract. Beat in enough confectioners’ sugar, a little at a time, to form a stiff dough that is no longer sticky. Form into 1 inch balls, then place on waxed paper and flatten with fingers to form patties. Let patties dry at room temperature two hours, turning once.
  2. In a medium saucepan over low heat, melt chocolate with shortening, stirring often. Remove from heat. Dip patties, one at a time, into chocolate by laying them on the tines of a fork and lowering the fork into the liquid. Let cool on waxed paper until set.

So….when I bite into a York Peppermint Patty I get the sensation that I’m eating something toxic when I could’ve just made them myself…. Though not for kids, I found this site mildly amusing when trying to find the actual ingredients lists for Yorks confection (not available online- though they do provide the ‘nutritional information’ (I think a more apt name might be applied to that)).

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “When I Bite into a York Peppermint Patty…

  1. sixcrazykanes

    August 11, 2008 at 12:17 pm

    These were SOOOOO GOOOD!!!!!

     
  2. waltzingthroughlife

    August 13, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    Oh, those look good!!!
    I saw some folks eating those on Saturday, but never managed to grab one for myself.
    I’ll have to add that recipe to my stack of new ones to try. 🙂

    Gotta love Google. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
