RSS

This Place is a Mess!

04 Aug

Here we go again, analyzing what we do and why as parents and reconsidering expectations versus authenticity. Does any child have a burning desire to clean up every time it’s necessary? Does any adult? Certainly not. Adults, however, tend to have a much more linear vision of life which propels them to clean before doing something enjoyable during those times that cleaning is not desirable. Should this be expected of children? Not when you strive to save the authentic child. So do they always help clean up? No. And especially not when it is a chore for me. Why would they want to partake in that misery? We’re all life learning here!

Here we are working together on cleaning the playroom. This is not quite the way I would have envisioned cleaning the table/chairs but they had a grand time and were so happy with the results!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “This Place is a Mess!

  1. waltzingthroughlife

    August 5, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Yeah, I finally have come to fully embrace this. It was quite the slap-in-the-head realization that it was MY need to have things cleaned up – not some universal This Must Be Done! mandate. 🙂
    I always ask if they want to help me when I’m tidying up — but, I make sure that I accept “No” if that’s their answer.

    I LOVE Sadie & Elijah’s way of making a tedious task a fun adventure!! How much more fun would all of house work be if we came at it from this perspective!!! 🙂

     
  2. allyall

    August 5, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    I love it when kids clean. It’s a game, an adventure. Love it.

     
  3. sixcrazykanes

    August 11, 2008 at 11:55 am

    I also do not require clean up help. It is my want and need, and if they want to help great, but if not no biggie. The other thing I have learned is that if I ask for their help and they accept, I need to understand that free help doesn’t always do the same kind of job I would do!

     

Leave a Reply

 
